Our Chief Illusion

we_are_legion__for_we_are_many_by_oheck-d38j6wl

If we begin to study ourselves we first of all come up against one word which we use more than any other and that is the word ‘I’. We say ‘I am doing’, ‘I am sitting’, ‘I feel’, ‘I like’, ‘I dislike’, and so on. This is our chief illusion, for the principal mistake we make about ourselves is that we consider ourselves one; we always speak about ourselves as ‘I’ and we suppose that we refer to the same thing all the time when in reality we are divided into hundreds and hundreds of different ‘I’s…. These ‘I’s change all the time; one suppresses another, one replaces another, and all this struggle makes up our inner life.”

 

– P.D. Ouspensky. Quote taken from darkmoon.me

 

Artwork: We are Legion, for we are many by Oheck

 

 

Leave a Reply

