Plaintive Confession of Rampant Egohood

tibetan-book-of-the-dead

From beginningless time, without end, I have roamed throughout cyclic existence –

 

Led astray by the momentum of my mistaken past actions and improper past behaviour,

 

I have mistaken the path and become lost on the path.

 

I regret with powerful remorse the negative past actions that I have committed, of any kind.

 

Drawn by the momentum of momentary yet violently resonant past acts,

 

I have sunk into this ocean of suffering, the sea of cyclic existence.

 

The fires of blazing hatred have unabatingly seared my mind,

 

The dense darkness of delusion has blinded my discriminative awareness,

 

The ocean coasts of desire have drowned my consciousness,

 

The mountain of fierce pride has entombed me in the lower existences,

 

The cruel whirlwind of envy has sucked me into these turning worlds,

 

Where, entwined by the tight knot of egocentricity,

 

I have fallen into the pit of desire, this chasm of blazing fires.

 

Unbearably brutal misery has poured down on me like heavy rain,

 

Damaged by such extreme and unbearable suffering,

 

Seared by the blazing ferocious fires of my negative past actions,

 

The shoots of my consciousness and sense faculties have been blunted,

 

If my body, this illusory aggregate, can no longer withstand all this pain,

 

How can you bear to witness this, O Compassionate Lord of Loving Kindness?

 

 

 – The Tibetan Book of the Dead: First Complete Translation

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.